History

Leicester

Market Street is in the very heart of the City of Leicester where George Tarratt himself established the company under his own name in 1913. In its early years before the 1920's the company earned a reputation as a recognized supplier of unique, quality Silverware.

During the Art Deco era of the 1920's and 30's the company expanded its Jewellery ranges with bold, geometric designs indicative of the period.

George's son, Ivan Tarratt, joined the company in 1936 after training with Wilson & Gill in London and took the company to new heights when the showroom moved along Market Street in 1967. He was also responsible for expanding the business in both jewellery and watch lines, and at the same time continuing as one of the premier silverware suppliers in the country. Even today, many of the prestigious trophies presented at various sporting events around the country are supplied by Tarratt.

From the early 1970's until the turn of the century Tarratt developed a number of key relationships with recognized partners within the industry. These included Patek Philippe, Rolex, Omega, Cartier and many more. This helped take the business to another level with the inevitable result that in 2006 the business moved again to a fabulous new showroom at 23-25 Market Street.

The future looks very exciting with new collections, new partnerships and new initiatives moving the business forward.

For informed advice on any purchase, manufacturing your own design in our on-site workshop, remodeling of inherited pieces, or even on the sale of an item - we are here to help. With qualified Gemmologists, Registered NAG Valuers and graduates - all with a wealth of experience in the industry - we are well prepared to handle any question or challenge you may have for us!

Rugby

10 Regent Street was purpose built as a Jewellers in 1900 by Sam Robbins.

The shop at 10 Regent Street traded as the much loved Sam Robbins Ltd until 1987, when the directors retired. At that time George Pragnell Ltd of Stratford-upon-Avon were looking to expand and were proud to add Thomas Cleaver to their business. Thomas Cleaver continued as manager, and to his delight the shop was named after him.

Over the last twenty-five years the business has grown and developed, and when Thomas Cleaver retired in 2000, he handed the role of General Manager over to John O'Rourke who continued as Manager.

In 2012 Thomas Cleaver joined forces with our now sister company in Leicester and from now on we will be known as Tarratt.